Before you ride your motorcycle in the Golden State, you absolutely must familiarize yourself with these top five laws of California.

  • The Golden State, which has more than 800,000 registered motorcycles, has the most riders of any state or territory in the country.
  • Riders are required to carry at least $5,000 worth of property damage coverage in the state of California, in addition to carrying $15,000 worth of bodily injury coverage for individuals.
  • If you are younger than 18, you need to be over the age of 16 and have held a learner’s permit for a minimum of six months before you can get your driver’s license.
  • In August 2016, the state of California made lane splitting lawful.

The Golden State is home to the most motorcyclists in the United States, with more than 800,000 motorcycles officially registered there. With slightly more than 500,000 bike registrations, Florida comes in at number two on the list. In addition, the state of California is home to some of the country’s most breathtaking byways, including the Pacific Coast Highway, the Montezuma Valley Road, the Angeles Crest Highway, and a number of others.

Motorcycle CA Law #1 : Do you have functioning turn signals?

If your motorcycle was manufactured and registered after January 1973, you are required to have rear and front turn signals that are in good working order in order to ride it in the state of California. Because of the design of the handlebars, you won’t be able to raise your hands more than six inches over your shoulders. In addition, if you purchased your motorcycle after 2013, you run the risk of receiving a penalty for having an aftermarket exhaust system that does not comply with local regulations.

The vast majority of motorcycling mishaps take place on shorter journeys of less than five miles.

Motorcycle CA Law #2 : What driver’s license do you have?

If you are less than 18, you need to be at least 16 years old and have held a learner’s permit for a minimum of six months. In addition to this, you have to finish a course on how to ride a motorcycle. If you are over the age of 18, you are required to pass not just a vision test but also a knowledge test.

There are three categories of motorcycle licenses that can be obtained in the state of California. These licenses allow riders to legally operate a variety of motorcycles, including two-wheeled vehicles, which may include scooters, as well as three-wheeled vehicles, such as trikes or motorcycles equipped with sidecars. In order to ride in the state of California, you will need to obtain either an M1, M2, or Class C license.

Motorcycle CA Law 3# : Where is your helmet?

Every motorcyclist in the state of California is required by law to wear a safety helmet that has been authorized by the United States Department of Transportation and bears a sticker indicating such authorization on the rear of the helmet.

Accidents involving motorcycles typically involve drivers going less than 30 miles per hour. When traveling at these speeds, a motorcycle safety helmet that complies with U.S. DOT standards can cut the number of head injuries by half while also reducing their severity. A non-approved safety helmet would typically have protection padding and liners that are extremely thin. It does not have the size, strength, or ability to defend you in the event of an accident.

Motorcycle riders in the state of California are strongly encouraged to wear protective gear such as eye goggles, a leather or long-sleeve jacket with luminous material, long heavy pants, over-the-ankle closed-toe boots, and full-fingered leather gloves. This is because California does not have legislation requiring motorcyclists to wear such gear.

Motorcycle CA Law #4 : do you have motorcycle insurance?

A minimum of $5,000 worth of property damage coverage, $15,000 worth of bodily injury coverage for individuals, and $30,000 worth of coverage for bodily injuries inflicted on several people is required for riders in the state of California. In the event that you do not have insurance for your motorcycle, you risk having your driver’s license revoked for a period of one year. Motorcycle insurance is provided by all of the main auto insurance providers, including All State, Geico, and Progressive, amongst others.

According to ValuePenguin, Geico’s average pricing for motorbike insurance in California was $788, which is 42% less expensive than the standard annual premium. Because they offer coverage for trip interruptions, Esurance is a popular choice among motorcycle riders who travel cross-country.¬† If you are involved in a motorcycle accident or your two-wheeled vehicle breaks down while you are away from home, Esurance will provide you with $100 per day for a hotel, $50 per day for alternative transportation, and $50 per day for meals until you are able to ride your motorcycle again. The typical cost per year comes in around $955.

Don’t lose sight of the fact that your California bicycle needs to be titled and registered.

Motorbike CA Law #5 : Do you know that lane splitting is permitted?

Lane splitting became permitted in the state of California in August 2016. As a result, motorcyclists in the state of California are permitted to ride through the area that exists between lanes in order to navigate around slow-moving traffic. The practice of lane splitting, which is often referred to as lane sharing or lane filtering, is prohibited in every other state in the United States. Because going faster than other vehicles increases the risk of an accident, motorcyclists are encouraged to safely split lanes while traveling no more than 10 miles per hour faster than other vehicles. They are also requested to refrain from doing it in areas that are close to entrances and exits of freeways.